Chevy SS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Premium Member
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m a Realtor, and this is my daily driver. (2016 PBM M6) I’ve got 75k miles on it, my added warranty runs out at 100k (used it, worth it) and I don’t want to hit the expensive repairs after warranty. I don’t think I drive it too hard. I do love this car (though I hate infotainment part) and I probably won’t want to part with it in my usual 3-4 year cycle. I’m at 4years now. Whaddya suppose will be the big dog repairs I’ll face? Won’t the LS3 run forever? Is there any car that’ll make me happy after this? I love that it’s a sleeper. Even kept the Chevy badges (though I kinda want the holdens).
Been lurking on the forum forever and when my payment for the forum came up, I thought I’d weigh in. Hi all!

·
Registered
1,144 Posts
Run it til it dies. The powertrain should last, engine and trans are solid (may need a new clutch at some point but that's a wear item). The weak points will be the electronics, particularly the magnetic shocks that are prone to failure. I was worried about the p/s rack but now almost all fall under the recall if it goes out.

I don't know that there's too much that will make you happy after the SS, at least if you're limited to sedans. The Charger is probably closes, but it's getting quite old and was never as crisp as the SS. You have the new Caddy "CT5-V" which gets close at 360hp with a twin turbo V6 and a good chassis, but it's not the same as an LS and a bit smaller. Maybe, maybe there's an LT4 version coming but that's still rumored and with the way GM is now I have my doubts. Beyond that you're into expensive German hardware. The M340i is pretty damn quick and can be tuned easily for big power. But you're looking at a 60k+ car decently equipped.

·
Registered
80 Posts