Chevy SS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm a current 2009 G8 GT owner living just outside of Baltimore Maryland.

Though I love the car, my G8 is just too lean on modern amenities. The miles are taking their toll it ain't holding up too good either. My wife got a 2016 Honda Civic when they came out. Every time I drive it, I find myself messing with all the cool features it has and thinking, "****, I wish my car did that".

So, I'm jonesing for something new and high-tech but with that same bad-ass muscle under the hood. The SS seems like the best option, but GM has kinda let me down so I'm not quite sold yet. My biggest fear is that if I go with anything putting out less than 350 hp, I'm going to hate it. My "G" turned me into a throttle junkie and I know finding anything comparable will be tough.

I'm not a mechanic or a modder but I like to tinker and I do a lot of DIY work on my cars when I can. So, hopefully I can contribute from time to time.

Looking forward to reading about your cars and getting good intel to feed my gearbox. I'm really interested to know the differences between the model years. Please tell me everything. The good, the bad, the ugly and the awesome.

Thank you very much.

·
Registered
2,229 Posts
Welcome, in short the SS is a (more) modern version of the GXP. Much nicer interior, etc. Lots of electronic goodies, some more useful than others. You may want to know that the MyLink head unit is a 2013 era design and cannot support Apple CarPlay, Android Auto. No proven options for aftermarket support either, if that capability is important to you. I highlight this because of what you said you like about the Honda.

I came from the G8GT to a manual ‘16 SS, primarily for the transmission choice. It is a great car, a “better” driver than the G8, though I would love to still have that car as it had its own “presence” that I don’t think the SS quite has.