Chevy SS Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I want to change the oil of my chevrolet ss but I don't know if my car needs an oil change or not. My car has gone 6k, the operation is also light, people around say 10k to change the oil. Another question I have is what people think about Valvoline oil. Last weekend, I received a Valvoline coupon but wondered if I should use it as I have never used their service. I'm a newbie with no experience, hoping someone can share their experience with me.
Thanks everyone.

·
Super Moderator
14,642 Posts
I agree with 5k miles or one year as maximum intervals under most normal conditions.
As modern engines go, the LS3 is a bit on the "dirty" side.

·
Registered
217 Posts
I’ve done oil analysis with every oil change and can confirm quantitatively that the Oil Life Monitor in the dash is very good. Change the oil when it gets to 20-25% and you’ll do very well. This equates to roughly every 5500-6000 depending on how much city/highway driving you do

·
Registered
183 Posts
For future reference there is an oil life monitor that shows when your oil is recommended changing. After your oil has been changed make sure its reset and if you forget how to find it, check your owners manual.

My SS doesnt see 5k miles annually but it gets an oil change every year even though my oil life is at 80%. I drive it sparingly, but while the car sits the block can have condensation that pollutes the oil. Oil changes are cheaper than repairs and maintaining it will hopefully extend the life of my engine.

·
Registered
2,725 Posts
Valvoline 5W-30 full syn (Dexos 2 = the GM “certification” the oil is approved for GM engines) is just fine. I use Mobil 1 in the SS but use Valvoline in my other vehicles when it is on sale.

I would recommend Mobil 1, Wix, or AC/Delco oil filter appropriate for the SS.