Chevy SS Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I am looking forward to joining the club! I am just starting out my search for an SS and am excited to learn more through this forum.

As a bit of background, I was driving a lightly tuned Focus ST until last year, when I bought an APR tuned ‘13 Audi S4 with a stick. Problem is, the V6 sound, even with an intake and exhaust, isn’t great, the handling also isn’t great and I don’t like it enough to pay for expensive maintenance/repairs that keep happening. Worse, the shifter feels incredibly rubbery.

I wasn’t sure what I wanted to replace the S4 with until one morning on vacation out in California. I’d rented a C7 manual ‘Vette for the trip, and I drove out of L.A. up to Malibu at about 5 a.m. with the top in the trunk, then up into the canyons as the sun came up. No traffic, perfect weather, just jaw-dropping scenery. It was truly one of the most fun things I’ve ever done — the engine sounded fantastic, I loved the muscular feel. Pretty much perfect, and I knew I had to get a V8, preferably a Chevy.

Since we have two dogs, though, and only one car, my better half desperately wants me to get something with some space. I’m pretty much set on the SS, even though parking it where we live/go in downtown DC might be a bit frustrating. I’ve test driven one, but it was an auto, and I’m really only interested in a stick. Hopefully one pops up in the area! And if you have any interest in selling, just let me know — I’ll be posting in the classifieds section soon.

Happy driving!

Wheel Tire Water Vehicle Sky

·
Registered
907 Posts
Hi All,

I am looking forward to joining the club! I am just starting out my search for an SS and am excited to learn more through this forum.