Chevy SS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

· Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, just wanted to reach out to everyone's expertise. I may be purchasing a 2016 SS MT. It already has the magnuson heartbeat kit installed, and ARH headers/exhaust. 29k miles. I've talked to the owner a fair amount, and will likely be taking the car for a drive soon. It will be a DD for me (though I don't drive much, work from home almost every day). Is there anything I specifically should watch out for/look for on these cars. I had an 09 C6 vette in the past so I have some experience with the LS3 motors, and in terms of maintenance, I do everything myself.

· Super Moderator
9,538 Posts
Welcome to the forum @umdsmith1 . Check with the previous owner about supporting mods for the maggie, who did the work, if you've a tune file on a handheld or available another way, if the tune is locked, etc. A trunnion kit would be good news. Does it have high flow or green cats, and will you need them where you are to pass emissions? Take a look at the magride shocks, particularly the rears, and check for leakage. Make sure the ride isn't stiff and bouncy, indicating a bad shock or strut. Depending on the pulley size/boost numbers/HP, you may be running out of clutch if it is still stock. Check the steering wheel for separation at the top "spokes" by the airbag. Look for matching tires and date codes on them. Ask if the battery is original or replacement as it is nearing the end of it's life cycle if it is the original, much like the tires. If you end up purchasing the car, make certain down the road when doing the maintenance that you use the GM specified diff fluid listed in the owner's manual, as the diff is Holden specific and requires a specific fluid.

Good luck moving forward, let us know how it works out. And remember, pics or it didn't happen. ;)

Reactions: toll booth willie

· Registered
2,831 Posts