Chevy SS Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for a summer/dry condition only tires. Currently making 659 rwhp and my current set up: Conti Extreme Contact ain't getting it done, absolutely no traction (which was self inflicted with my recent power increase :))

Car will only be a weekend warrior, no rain or cold temperatures (below 40 degrees). What is the best tire for road surfaces, research has provided:

285/35/19
MT ET Street S/S Radial
Toyo Proxes R888R
Bridgestone Potenza RE71R

mainly looking at rear. Looking for thoughts, suggestions & personal experience with any of the above? I plan on getting a separate drag pack, so this tire would be street use only; possible some drag time if I go before purchasing the drag pack.

·
Premium Member
667 Posts
Are you still on the stock rims? I believe the stock 9" rim is pretty maxed out with a 275. I'm no expert but just from what my internet research has said.

I think any of the tires will be tough hooking up on the street. I had Nitto NT05's and they were alright but a soft tire and only good for about 8,000 miles.

·
Super Moderator
14,144 Posts
I just had 285/35/19 Michelin A/S 3+ installed this morning. They fit fine and look as spec as the 275 Bridgestones.

·
Registered
3,670 Posts
Once you're able to hook up and put down all that power, your drive train will experience greater stress than before. Likely you're aware, mentioning this here for others who may be following this thread.
At the strip I had some good (for me) time slips but was spinning the first 150ft or so. I was determined to hook on a launch. I hooked beautifully but it made my transmission throw up. That was a costly performance reward.

Reactions: MikeMc and ESindon

·
Registered
1,552 Posts