Chevy SS Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,811 Posts
Has to be a very unusual failure I would think, have not heard of a trans failure with that few miles, and not raced....

Good that it failed while in warranty.

·
Registered
78 Posts
Ouch. Very sorry about that. Hopefully I don't start having problems soon (36500 on my 2017)
I've been burning up Chevy trannies since 1980; THM350, 4T60E, 4T65E-HD been through em all.
Usually fail around 60k typically just after a fluid and filter change. Have around 90K on the latest one with Royal Purple trannie fluid installed since new and I vow to never change the fluid!
Just wondering are you the 1st owner?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ouch. Very sorry about that. Hopefully I don't start having problems soon (36500 on my 2017)
I've been burning up Chevy trannies since 1980; THM350, 4T60E, 4T65E-HD been through em all.
Usually fail around 60k typically just after a fluid and filter change. Have around 90K on the latest one with Royal Purple trannie fluid installed since new and I vow to never change the fluid!
Yes, delivered in August 2017

·
Registered
78 Posts
Yes, delivered in August 2017
Well that rules out it being beta on by owner 1. I guess a unicorn will have unicorn problems. Thank goodness it was under warranty!
Can you share how much $$ a new/replacement tranny is for these?

·
Premium Member
566 Posts
shifter on “F” but car doesn’t move? I guess it won't since there is no "F". Sorry I had to go there :)

·
Super Moderator
8,514 Posts
Either a typo - OR - he meant F for Fun!
I thought it probably ended in ****ed and explained fully the current, now previous situation. :unsure:

·
Registered
2014 SS, SOLD!
4,146 Posts