Show me your aftermarket gauges! - Chevy SS Forum
 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 07:53 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Ivan SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: NoVA
Posts: 303
Show me your aftermarket gauges!

Looking for some ideas on where to place a boost gauge...
Ivan SS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Moreland, GA
Posts: 1,229
Garage
Mobile Attractions sells a triple dash mount gauge pod and a dual center gauge pod. The dash mount goes over the center speaker and the dual center mount sits in the cubby in front of the shifter. They will bundle them with Aeroforce gauges as well.

https://mobileattractionsllc.com/pro...ple-gauge-pod/

https://mobileattractionsllc.com/pro...ole-gauge-pod/
Z06fan and airboss63 like this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2014 PBM SS
-RCR Tune
-RCR Low Lift Endurance cam
-PTC 3200
-RotoFab Intake

-Kooks 1 7/8" LT's
-Solo Unbalanced Mach-Shorty/HFs

-Ace Convex Wheels (Anchors)

11.53 @ 118.3mph - 1.65 60'
GTO 17s w/ Hoosier DRs. Daily 20s on the front
Treytaw is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 10:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 445
I've been trying to get in contact with John Kelley at Kelley Performance; he sent me a PM a while back saying that he can supply a modified A-pillar that will hold either 2 or 3 gauges. Have not heard back from him at this time, however.
JayJ is online now  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 11:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: CO
Posts: 2,722
I use the torque app with a bluetooth obdii adapter. I only hook it up when I want to monitor, so stealth and completely reversible. Torque can provide a boost gauge.

JayJ and airboss63 like this.

2015 A6@9psig
nothingtoseehere is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
umop-apisdn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Texas
Posts: 785
Garage
Yes, torque can read boost, if the ECU supports it. Not sure if the stock tune reports boost.
umop-apisdn is online now  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 02:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 226
These BT OBD IMO are waste of money I tried several these with poor results .Aeroforce are plug and play and configurable . Best money I have spent so far. Now had it to do over would just ordered three at same time in mean time have Holden over open slots.
chevyman2 is online now  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 03:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 226
http://www.ssforums.com/forum/chevy-...pen-slots.html

Sorry having technical issues with this Smart phone unable to post pics but link to pic

http://www.ssforums.com/forum/chevy-...pen-slots.html

PBM
No Roof No spare
chevyman2 is online now  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
umop-apisdn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Texas
Posts: 785
Garage
The Bluetooth OBD dongles are fine, as long as you don't buy a cheap-o Chinese ELM327 clone off fleabay.

I've had an OBDLink MX for 3 years shared across 4 cars with no issues beyond the occasional communication drop on really long trips.
umop-apisdn is online now  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 03:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: CO
Posts: 2,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by umop-apisdn View Post
The Bluetooth OBD dongles are fine, as long as you don't buy a cheap-o Chinese ELM327 clone off fleabay.

I've had an OBDLink MX for 3 years shared across 4 cars with no issues beyond the occasional communication drop on really long trips.
I have the same one and it works reliably in my SS. Sometimes real dedicated gauges are better, especially for things that change quickly like boost pressure, but its good enough to keep an eye on things occasionally or to data log. I don't leave it plugged in all the time, but I have forgotten it before and it turns itself off and doesn't kill the battery.

2015 A6@9psig
nothingtoseehere is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-26-2017, 04:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 86
Speaking of the Torque app, anyone use the Ethanol % monitor in Torque for those that have converted to flex fuel?


Here is the PID to make it work...




Create a custom PID in Torque Pro: 220052
Equation: (A/255)*100
Units:%


Rizthrede likes this.

PBM G8 GXP M6-Self flex fuel tune, LTs, Kooks A/B, Monster Stg 3 clutch, Ported LSA S/C, cam, fuel system, stock block and stock heads. Best e.t 10.81/ best mph 135
2007 TBSS-Self tune, bolt ons 13.06@106.7, 2,200 D.A
1991 GMC Syclone- Self tune/catback 12.8@104, 4,200ft D.A

Last edited by STAGEUP; 01-26-2017 at 04:07 PM.
STAGEUP is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chevy SS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome